It’s time to work with employers to adopt The Standard

The first of its kind in the world

Developed by the Mental Health Commission of Canada, employers, unions, and legal and policy experts, The National Standard for Psychological Health and Safety in the Workplace (often referred to as “The Standard”) is a set of voluntary guidelines, tools and resources to prevent psychological harm, and promote psychological health in our workplaces.

Adopting The Standard is voluntary – but the employer’s duty isn’t: there are seven branches of law that emphasize an employer’s duty to protect, promote and accommodate psychological health and safety.

Employers who comply with The Standard commit to:

  • take measures to prevent and protect workers from psychological harm;
  • provide training and education to promote psychological health and safety;
  • involve a diverse group of workers in identifying problems and solutions;
  • develop a clear process for reporting, investigating, and monitoring psychological health and safety concerns;
  • be encouraged to conduct regular internal audits; and
  • collect data and develop a plan to control risks related to the 13 factors affecting psychological health and safety in the workplace.

Get to know The Standard's 13 Factors

Read More

Bring The Standard to Our Locals

Read More